Simplify For More Time

j0430466 Sometimes in all the hustle and bustle of family life, we forget to make time for what is really important.  Here are a few ideas on how to simplify and get back some time for your family.

  • Have the family help with the chores.  If you have all hands on deck the work will get done much faster.  We recently started having the whole family clean up after dinner.  It has been great because my kids are the sweepers, table washers, leftover packers, and  dishwasher loaders.  My husband and I help with everything. I love this because what used to take one person 30 minutes now gets done in less than 10 minutes.  It also teaches the kids much needed life skills.
  • Take care of any incoming papers right when they come into the house.  I am thinking of mail and kids papers.  I really like the one touch rule for incoming papers.   For instance, when one of my kids bring home a permission slip for a field trip, I will fill it out and put it back in their backpack for them to take back to school the next day.  This item never goes on my to do list.  Also, the best place to open mail is next to the recycle bin…hint,hint.
  • Set time limits for time wasting activities.  I am always amazed at how long I am on the computer.  I may sit down to do a quick check of e -mail and I end up being there for 30 minutes.  And, don’t even get me started on how much time I could spend on Facebook.  What helps me is to set time limits.  Maybe you can check e-mail just twice a day, or go on Facebook just once a day.  Figure out what works best for you.
  • Turn the TV and Computer off.  This is an awesome way to free up time.  Or another idea is to multitask while you’re watching TV.  Folding clothes and exercising are two easy things to do while the TV is on.
  • Learn to say no.  It is good to volunteer your time but choose to help out with just one thing at a time.  Many people, especially women, like to help and they have a hard time saying no.  Helping others is commendable but do not lose sight of your priorities.  You still need to take care of yourself ( spirit, mind and body) and you also have a family that needs you to be available for them.

What kinds of things are stealing your time.  Can anything be simplified or even eliminated?  Let me know what kinds of things you’ve done to simplify your schedule.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Simplify For More Time

  1. Though I don’t have the level of chaos that kids and a family add quite yet, I already practice a lot of the techniques you suggest. Rarely is the TV on “just for background noise” and in the evenings we choose 1-2 shows we really want to see and enjoy them. Same for the computer–there comes a time in the day when we should all shut down. I think the more you can simplify your life and all the things you feel obligated to do each day, the more flex time you’ll have to actually live. I enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,685 other followers

